Nigerian Premier League Clubs with most title

Top Header Banner
It was formerly known as the Nigerian Premier League for the second time, as of the 2012/2013 Season from the 2003/2004 Season; “Nigerian Premiership” (2000–2003); “Nigerian Premier League”, first time (1993–2000); “Nigerian Professional League” (1990–1993); Nigerian National League – First Division (1979–1990) and “the (Nigerian) National League” or “Nigerian Football League” (1972–1979),

The League Management Company

This is the legal League board or body that was incorporated in November 2012, by the Nigeria Football Federation to take over the nearly-collapsed NPL. The first step the LMC took was to rebrand the League name, from the Nigerian Premier League to the Nigerian Professional Football League, (NPFL) or simply the Professional ‘Football’ League) (P’F’L) i.e. just “Professional League” or “Football League” inside Nigeria.

In 2015, the League Management Company solicited financial support from the Government in order to “upgrade of existing grounds and provision of required broadcast equipment and facilities in the stadiums”.

Although more than 80 per cent of NPFL clubs are state owned companies, new regulatory requirements make at least 50 per cent equity in these clubs available to private investors.

The NPFL runs a 38 match day season with four clubs with the lowest points relegated at the end of the season while four clubs are promoted to join the NPFL from the Nigeria National League. NPFL matches enjoy good media coverage and following with SuperSport, a leading sports television pay per view channel providing Broadcast sponsorship.

Enyimba International Football Club or simply known as Enyimba, is a Nigerian football (soccer) club based in the city of Aba which plays in the Nigerian Professional Football League. Their name means People’s Elephant in Igbo language and is also the nickname used for the city of Aba. Founded in 1976, the club rose to prominence in the 2000s and is considered the most successful Nigerian football club as they won two African Champions League titles, eight Nigerian championships and four Federation Cups since 2001.

Nigerian Premier League

  • Champions (8): 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009–10, 2015, 2019

Nigerian FA Cup

  • Champions (4): 2005, 2009, 2013, 2014

National Second Division

  • Champions: 1993

Nigerian Super Cup

  • Champions (4): 2001, 2003, 2010, 2013


CAF Champions League

  • Champions (2): 2003, 2004

CAF Super Cup

  • Champions (2): 2004, 2005

Rangers International Football Club, commonly known as Enugu Rangers, is a Nigerian professional association football team. They are based in Enugu and play their home games at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium. They are the only Nigerian team never to have been relegated from the Nigeria Premier League
They have won the league 7 Times
1974, 1975, 1977, 1981, 1982, 1984, 2016

Nigerian FA Cup: 6
1974, 1975, 1976, 1981, 1983, 2018

Nigerian Super Cup: 1

African Cup Winners’ Cup: 1

Enyimba and Rangers compete in the “Oriental derby

Shooting Stars Sports Club (often nicknamed 3SC or Oluyole Warriors) is a Nigerian football club based in Ibadan.
The club was one of the founders of the Nigerian Premier League in 1972, when they were called WNDC Ibadan (Western Nigeria Development Company), and were later called IICC (Industrial Investment and Credit Corporation) Shooting Stars of Ibadan.
Shooting Stars is one of the most followed football clubs in Nigeria and play their home matches at the Lekan Salami Stadium. The stadium was named after one of the prominent supporters of the club who is now deceased. Before, “Sooting” as it is called by its supporters used to play at the famous Liberty Stadium, one of the venues for the world youth soccer championship in 1999.  Shooting stars is the first club to win the FA cup on club basis in Nigeria in 1971

  • Nigerian Premier League
    • Champions (5): 1976, 1980, 1983, 1995, 1998
  • Nigerian FA Cup
    • Winners: 1971 (as WNDC), 1977, 1979, 1995
  • African Cup of Champions Clubs
    • Runners-up: 1984, 1996
  • CAF Cup
    • Winners: 1992
  • African Cup Winners’ Cup
    • Winners: 1976
  • West African Club Championship
    Winners: 1998

Heartland Football Club is a Nigerian football club based in Owerri. The team play their home games at Dan Anyiam Stadium (but currently use the new Okigwe Stadium as their temporary home ground pending renovations at the Dan Anyiam). Their local rivals are Enyimba FC and Enugu Rangers. They reached the finals of the 1988 African Cup of Champions Clubs and 2009 CAF Champions League, the premier African continental club tournament, and won four straight Nigerian league titles from 1987 to 1990.

Until their 18th place showing and relegation in 2016, they were one of two teams in the top flight that had never been relegated. In October 2017, Heartland won the Nigeria National League Southern Conference to gain promotion back up to the top flight

  • Nigerian Premier League: 5
    1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1993.
  • Nigerian FA Cup: 3
    1988, 2011, 2012.
  • Nigerian Super Cup: 2
    2011, 2012.

Kano Pillars Football Club is a Nigerian football club based in Kano. They play in the top division in Nigerian football, the Nigerian Premier League. Their home stadium is Sani Abacha Stadium. Kano Pillars FC was founded in 1990, the year in which the professional association football league started in Nigeria. It was an amalgamation of three amateur clubs in Kano State which gave birth to Kano Pillars

  • Nigerian Premier League
    Champions (4): 2007–08, 2011–12, 2013, 2014.
  • Nigerian FA Cup
    Winners (1): 2019.
  • Nigerian Super Cup
    Winners (1): 2007–08.

Dolphins FC was a Nigerian football team based in Port Harcourt. 19 February 2016, the New manager of Dolphins F.C & Sharks F.C was announced and Rivers United F.C. was unveiled by the Honourable Commissioner of Sports, Rivers State – Hon. Boma Iyaye.

  • Nigerian Premier League: 3
    1997, 2004, 2011
  • Nigerian FA Cup: 4
    2001, 2004, 2006, 2007
  • Professional Second Division: 3
    1994, 2002, 2008–09

Bridge Football Club is a Nigerian football club based in Lagos that was founded in the mid-1970s by Adebanjo Shalom. As a result of an association with the Julius Berger construction company, the club was known as Julius Berger Football Club until 2010. The club has won national championships and competed internationally.

  • Nigerian Premier League: 2
    1991, 2000.
  • Nigerian FA Cup: 2
    1996, 2002.
  • Nigerian Super Cup: 2
    2000, 2002.

Bendel Insurance Football Club, also known as Insurance of Benin Football Club or simply Bendel Insurance, is a soccer club based in Benin City, Nigeria. They were originally known as the Vipers of Benin. Their venue is Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, which has a capacity of 20,000.
Created by Dr. Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia, Bendel Insurance was one of the founding members of the Nigerian Premier League in 1972

  • Nigeria Premier League: 2
    1973, 1979
  • Nigerian FA Cup: 3
    1972, 1978, 1980
  • CAF Cup: 1
  • West African Club Championship (UFOA Cup): 3
    1993, 1994, 1995

Others with 1 Title Each are:

Lobi Stars (Makurdi) 1 1999
BCC Lions (Gboko) 1 1994
Stationery Stores (Lagos) 1 1992
Leventis United (Ibadan) 1 1986
Plateau United (Jos) 1 2017
Bayelsa United (Yenegoa) 1 2009
Ocean Boys (Brass) 1 2006
Udoji United (Awka) 1 1996
New Nigeria Bank (Benin City) 1 1985
Racca Rovers (Kano) 1 1978
Mighty Jets (Jos) 1 1972


  • No comments yet.
  • Add a comment
    %d bloggers like this: